Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Dude X Kawai ES520 or CN29? - 05/12/22 12:10 PM
Hi Folks,

New to the forum, been reading various threads for a while now and wanted to ask some questions to get your opinions on ES520 vs CN29. Apologies if this thread is posted in the wrong place.

I've been hammering on an old Roland E14 for a few years now and really have the itch to upgrade to a fully weighted 88 DP.
I'm a guitarist first and foremost, but recently have really gotten the piano bug and love transposing songs from guitar to piano. I have so much to learn but I'm loving it.
There aren't a lot of Kawai outlets in Scotland, so taking a leap of faith as I have watched almost all there is to watch on YouTube regarding Kawai, Yamaha, Roland etc. (more than once) Thank the lord for Stu Harrison and JPS.

I originally set out to get a P125 or ES110, but as times went by the more I want to move to the mid range and spend a wee bit more given the lifespans of the keys etc.
I've tried the P125 and liked the action more than the FP30x. The key depth felt better on the Yamaha for some reason. I've also had a short play on a Young Chang acoustic grand, which was amazing.

Anyway, after much deliberation and setting a budget I'm settled on the ES520 or CN29. Both use the same sound engine, but the CN29 has the RHIII vs RHCII on the ES520. Stu has mentioned that the key depth on the RHCII is less than the RHIII or at least the sense of depth. This concerns me a little as I thought the same about the PHA4 vs GHS.
Would love to hear your options on both.

ES520 seems more accessible and has audio line outs etc. which are all great and would suit me better, but the CN29 for similar budget adds the RHIII. Also considering spending more and moving to ES920, but I think at my level the ES520 / CN29 would be more than enough and a huge jump from the small Roland synth I've been playing.

Some questions I have are:
- Is the CN29 a better buy given the better action and full pedal set?