Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Michael P Walsh Digital dynamics - 10/18/18 09:53 AM
According to John Mortensen he can get 10 different dynamic levels on his acoustic grand. Does the same apply to touch sensitive digital pianos, none of them or just the ones with very good actions? I tried it on my cheap korg and (I think) I can only get 7 but then again I'm a beginner so perhaps it's my own shortcomings.
Posted By: Colin Miles Re: Digital dynamics - 10/18/18 09:57 AM
Originally Posted by Michael P Walsh
According to John Mortensen he can get 10 different dynamic levels on his acoustic grand. Does the same apply to touch sensitive digital pianos, none of them or just the ones with very good actions? I tried it on my cheap korg and (I think) I can only get 7 but then again I'm a beginner so perhaps it's my own shortcomings.

I tried this out on my LX7 and reckon I can certainly match that if not better it. Which is why the Roland modelled sound has such a dynamic range.
Posted By: prout Re: Digital dynamics - 10/18/18 01:03 PM
In theory, you can get an infinite number of dynamic variations on an acoustic grand because it is an analogue device. I assume, on a DP, the maximum number of dynamic variations available, at this time, is limited by the midi range 0-127.

In the case of an acoustic, no reasonable pianist should care or be able to say - “I am now going to play at level 6.”

Besides, in standard classical music, there are only five normal dynamic levels - pp, p, mp, mf, f, ff.

I guess I should say six levels, including the best one - OFF.

Posted By: arc7urus Re: Digital dynamics - 10/18/18 01:08 PM
How have you counted the number of dynamic levels? Are we discussing the perception of dynamics or the actual number of velocity layers on a DP/VST?