Piano World Home Page
Posted By: GreenCheck How to make jumps without looking at keys - 11/28/21 02:41 PM
I am an early beginner (about 1.5 months of self study) who is struggling with moving my hands without looking at the keys. I realize this is a skill that will take years to fully develop, but I feel like I'm at a loss regarding how best to approach practicing this skill.

Perhaps my most fundamental question is this: should I be thinking of jumps in terms of how far I need to move my hands, or in terms of the absolute location of the key I will strike? That is, say I'm moving from C4 to C3 - should I be be trying to mentally encode "this is what it feels like to move my hand down an octave" (this is how I've been thinking about it), or should I be thinking "this is where the C3 key is on the keyboard"?

I have also been surprised that I've found very few exercises designed to hone this skill. I was thinking of just moving up and down the keyboard with different patterns, but thought that instead of reinventing the wheel, surely there is already an established approach that I just haven't come across.
Posted By: Bart K Re: How to make jumps without looking at keys - 11/28/21 02:54 PM
Don't worry about it and just look down. Seriously, getting the feel of big intervals is something that develops naturally over time as you play lots and lots of music with jumps.
Green check
You are combining two different issues;
Find a single note: it is very important that you work on ‘seeing a note on a score and being able to instantly play the right key’

Jumps from one chord or note to the next:
First. You need to instantly know where you want to go. That means you are good at seeing the note on the score and then playing the note

Then, Q’s advice, as above, not to worry about it. Just play. Your body will develop the proprioception to go from one note/chord to the next.

How do you get there? Play a lot of music at your level
Originally Posted by GreenCheck