Piano World Home Page
I'm at kind of a crossroads in my life. Since I graduated in 2005 with a BM in piano, I've been a "working musician" with a full-time job that is unrelated to music. My job pays decently, but is unfulfilling and the high cost of living in the area where I live is making it difficult to see much of a future here. I do play with some local choirs, but I'm just not getting the performance opportunities I'd like to have. I've saved up about $30,000 and so, I'm playing around with the idea of going back to school. Eastman would be my primary and foremost choice because of its academic strength and I should be able to prepare a satisfactory audition to their criteria (Beethoven op. 101, Brahms op. 21/2, Schoenberg op. 11/2, Chopin op. 10/10 etude).

Has anyone here done anything similar? I would be uprooting myself completely and starting over, plus, most likely, relying on student loans to cover my costs while I studied. One alternative would be to get an MA locally and then apply to a doctoral program later, but I doubt I would be able to fully commit myself to it given my current work schedule, and losing any income would be a problem given the escalating cost of living here. Rochester NY is quite cheap by comparison.
I don't know any of the answers but I just wanted to say that I am very impressed and even moved by your story. You've done well in circumstances that haven't been easy and not what you've wanted, including that you've been able to save so much during a time when a lot of people have been lucky if they've just been able to get by.

And good luck. You surely deserve it. thumb
It sounds making better living (more money) is one of the big concern for you.
If it is the case, I do not think getting MA in piano performance will be the fast fix to the problem.
It is better off that you to go to a business school, and get a job that will fulfill your financial needs first.