2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
25 members (drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, 8 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Anjru Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi.

I’ve been playing piano somewhat consistently for maybe 15, 20 years. I had lessons when I was a kid. Then taught myself guitar and flute while taking trumpet lessons for 5 years. I’m interested mist in blues and jazz though I stray from time to time into classical. And while I can accompany myself on guitar singing a lot of songs on piano that’s not something I have under my belt. I’m just doing this for fun. I’m 67 and retired. In the L.A. area.

I’ve tried finding a teacher that’s a good match as one always hears how a teacher is so important if you want to progress well. Prices here range from $50/hr in person to 120+ online, which is kind of baffling. I’ve tried finding people through Craigslist and with other online searches and haven’t had the best of luck. I found a young guy whose playing appealed to me but wasn’t so hot at directing me in my pursuit. I had a more accomplished teacher that used to teach at Berklee who was way too pedantic. Then there was the guy who spent too much of the lesson playing without really showing me anything.