2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, 4 invisible), 1,281 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
I'm finally getting around to posting about this...
My recent piano shopping experience was not quite as involved as some others. But it was a 5-month long roller coaster of a ride.

First some background: I've been playing piano since I was 7 years old. Took private lessons for 10 years, then went on to major in music in college.
Unlike my classmates I did not go into music education. (What else does one do with a music major?!). So after college I took a break from music while I tried to figure out what I wanted to do with my life. (30 years later, I'm still trying to figure that out)
My mom has a Young Chang G185 grand piano which she bought in the mid-1980s, and that was the piano I had growing up.
When I moved out of mom's house, I bought an Alesis QS8.1. But admittedly it was not an inspiring instrument to play. So I didn't keep up with playing the piano.

When my wife and I met 20 years ago, she had a Baldwin Acrosonic at her parents' house, which was her piano growing up.
When we bought our first place, my mom asked if we wanted the YC grand. But we didn't have room for it in our condo. We still had my Alesis, which was easy to move around.
A few years later we bought our house, then had our son. Meanwhile the Alesis was still sitting in the living room.

Our son liked to play on the Alesis, especially the drum sounds. sigh...