2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
31 members (Animisha, 36251, ethanw, dbudde, AJB, ANAFREE, CraiginNZ, Doug M., AndrewJCW, 3 invisible), 729 guests, and 245 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3173398 11/26/21 11:50 AM
T
Tono Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I'm an adult amateur, only rarely a teacher, but I want to cast a wide net -- maybe a teacher has had to deal with this problem. My hands are built in such a way that the thumbs play largely on the nail. This is particularly unfortunate when I'm trying to play on the black keys, as in the famous Chopin étude. Evidently this is not a very common problem, as I've hunted for commentary on this without success. My playing is very unreliable, as the thumbnail slides like a bad skater on ice. I cannot play with the flesh any more than I do without totally ruining the posture of the other fingers. I've experimented with a variety of kitchen gloves, using only one digit of them, and some come close to solving the problem, but they're all too non-sliding, which is another problem in itself. Has anyone out there dealt with this? Any suggestion would be appreciated.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
I
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
I