2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
51 members (20/20 Vision, 36251, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 8 invisible), 1,397 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Two years ago, I decided to make a present of a good upright to the grown-up son of one of my closest friends, who was moving into a new house. He is a professional musician, making his living composing music for movies. A self-taught guitar virtuoso (spent time with Paco de Lucia), today he works mostly on DAW's and composes a lot of fusion music with asian influences, but also many other genres, including classic. He himself has a kid of fifteen, and the acorn never falling far from the tree has become a promising jazz piano student.

This was their first acoustic, these generations were brought up on keyboards. There was no space for a grand, but we decided to search for the best upright in Paris.
We narrowed down on the following :

Steinway V 125, 1997
Boston UP 132 PE, 2017
C. Bechstein Concert 8, 1990
Bösendorfer 130, 2012

All these pianos had been lightly used (except the Bechstein where the hammers showed some packing) and were in excellent condition, unrestored. We spent most of our time at the Steinway Showroom and at two independent dealerships. After a long process of trials by our 15-year old, who was remarquably unprejudiced ans unfazed by the fancy showrooms, I purchased the Bösendorfer for € 20.000.

It is a pleasure to feature this instrument in the following father and son video. Composition by Mathias Duplessy.

Last edited by Vikendios; 10/21/21 12:05 PM.