2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
53 members (APianistHasNoName, Abdol, ambrozy, Andrew E., accordeur, bsalad, Bill McKaig,RPT, chen, 12 invisible), 661 guests, and 466 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
OP Offline
P
Dear all

I am a long-time lurker, but first-time poster.

I am a lifelong amateur pianist. In 2000, I bought a new Estonia 168, after much research. I have loved it.

Over the last few years, I have been working much more seriously on improving my pianism, and am now studying with a fantastic teacher, practicing 2-3 hours/day consistently, and really feeling benefits.

Because I bought my Estonia 168 before the improvements Dr. Laul made in the 2000's, and because of the intense piano work I am undertaking, I am considering upgrading to a new and larger Estonia 190.

I keep the piano in a library/bedroom, and there would be space for the 190. But the main reason to make the change would be for improved sound, rather than to fill a room with more sound.

I mostly work on 19th and 20th century classical rep, particularly Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin and Schubert. I do find my current piano fine. But I'm wondering whether experienced pianists who have upgraded to larger sizes, and, particularly, people very knowledgeable about Estonias, might have advice. I certainly know I need to play the new piano, and see if I fall in love with the sound.