2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, 13 invisible), 1,873 guests, and 261 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#3152605 09/03/21 01:09 AM
H
HBIII Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Hi everyone,

I'm a beginning music producer who has decided it is time to get serious and start learning to play the keyboard properly, I don't want to be dragging notes around with a mouse to make cords in a daw anymore :-) . After a lot of research I ended up ordering a kawai es920—no easy feat tracking one down since they seem to be out of stock everywhere—and I am very excited to get practicing.

However, I moved to a very small farming town in WA state a few years ago and there are literally no piano teachers within about a 2.5 hour drive from where I am at. So private lessons are out of the picture until I think it would be worth a 5 hour round-trip drive. However, I don't want to pick up any bad habits or playing techniques while I am self-teaching myself. I was wondering if you all had any recommendations on videos I could watch or books I could read that could help me avoid this.

Thanks so much!

R
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
R
That is a GREAT instrument especially for a beginner, congratulations!

Check out the videos of all of the concert pianists and high level pedagogues on YouTube. They have extremely valuable advice. Graham Fitch is my personal favorite, but there are a number of others who put out exceptionally good videos.

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member