2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
53 members (CharlesXX, bcalvanese, AlkansBookcase, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, Carey, accordeur, 1957, 10 invisible), 2,154 guests, and 301 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
S
OP Offline
S
Hi all,

I've recently been looking at upgrading my Roland FP30 to something that would fit my workflow better. I am not a trained pianist, and have only been playing for a few years. I am a hobbyist composer and like to compose/draft on piano, so some features I am looking for are:
  • Decent key action. It doesn't have to perfectly simulate a grand piano because I don't have enough experience playing on grands to remember what they feel like
  • Good set of sounds that are easy to navigate through and load up on different tracks. They don't have to be the best sounds because for a finished song I would use VSTs, but I like to do everything on the piano instead of having to load up VSTs every time I want some strings or something. I would prefer very good piano sounds though.
  • A record button that can record audio/preferably also MIDI data so I don't have to transcribe
  • Bonus points if it can double very well as a MIDI controller for my DAW

Some pianos I've been considering are the RD-2000, Dexibell S7 Pro, Nord Stage 4, and Kawai MP11SE.

RD-2000 - Only piano I've been able to try of the list, love the action of the PHA-50 keybed, but don't love the piano sounds. Its one of my complaints with the FP30.