2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Online Content
Sight-reading... yawn... This topic seem to sky-rocket these days.

I am a beginner who can decipher sheet music. And with decipher I mean to look up the notes I don't understand and write their names into the sheet music. Then I play the music by reading the letters only. The rest is just repeat and repeat until it is memorized. Mostly muscle-memory. The problem is, this takes an eternity to get into a new piece and this will make my learning come to a halt quite soon.
Let's make it short: I am convinced I need to learn sight-reading, or be be more precise: READING.

And here I have some questions: what exactly do you guys and ladies do with your eyes?

Question1:
Do you always look to the sheet music and never, never ever take your eyes from the sheet music and rely on muscle memory your fingers find the right keys, even if your hands must jump? (Please don't tell me something like "only playing beginner level that does not need to change hand position". In this case it is obvious where my eyes are placed and I wouldn't have asked this question.)

Question2:
Do you only read the notes you are currently playing or do you read a few notes ahead? And if you read ahead, do you know exactly each note or do you just see a vague direction if the following notes are higher or lower for making a better fingering?

Question3: