2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
42 members (almo82, Calavera, cygnusdei, Anglagard44, Charles Cohen, David B, Animisha, deadlymajesty, 14 invisible), 999 guests, and 733 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
Hello! I am an early advanced piano student, and I've always felt vexed when faced with sight-reading anything past a beginner/easy level. It's not that I can't sight-read some intermediate material-- I pull it off sometimes-- but I still feel like I don't know what I'm doing overall when it comes to sight-reading a piece. The procedure as I've been taught and as I understand it, is as follows:

[*]Determine the key
[*]Consider the composer/time period
[*]Analyze dynamics, tempo, character, articulation, fingerings, etc.
[*]Analyze rhythm/harmony/melody in sections that look especially difficult

.. and go!

This is how I was taught to sightread, and to be completely honest, if you sat me down for 5 minutes straight in front of a piece and let me dissect it on my own, I'd probably produce quite an exceptional sight-reading of the piece for my standards. Does that really count though? To go through all these steps in earnest could honestly take me somewhere around 1 min, maybe 2 for longer pieces. But I understand that the proper way to go about sight-reading is to analyze the piece for only a few seconds or so before playing.