2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (1957, Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 11 invisible), 1,898 guests, and 338 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3142200 07/31/21 06:57 PM
W
OP Offline
W
Hi Everyone,

Let me start off by saying that I'm relatively new to the whole tuner/tech thing. I've been tuning for awhile (learning by ear) and have gotten somewhat confident in it, but have recently started getting more into regulation.

A neighbor of mine gave me their Everett studio upright, 43", which I believe is from the late 70s judging by the serial number. Since I teach piano, too, I had the idea of fixing it up and having two pianos side by side - one for demonstration, one for the student to play. It feels (and sounds) rather unsatisfying to play. Even my young students notice that the dynamic range is terrible, it feels both loose and stiff at the same time, and is generally unresponsive.

I am equipped with The Piano Action Handbook and a Boston upright in very good playing condition of similar size for comparison.

I started going through the motions by measuring hammer blow distance: 2" on the dot. (Handbook recommends 1 3/4"). I shoved some business cards between the action brackets and hammer rail as a temporary fix before gluing anything in place.

Next, I regulated the capstans so that there is just the tiniest bit of lost motion. It feels a little better.