2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 36251, benkeys, 9 invisible), 2,042 guests, and 334 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
BennyY Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Hi all, I have been playing on a Yamaha keyboard for 3 years. Recently, I started learning from online piano courses that teaches proper fingering and music theory. My aim is to learn some proper piano techniques to play some classical pieces, like gymnopedie / chopin.

I have tried the following usual recommendations but having a dilemma on which to choose. I have written my experience with trying them and hoping someone can give me some suggestions.

1. Yamaha P125
- keys seem heavy?
- I was trying the unit while standing. The shop doesn't have a stool, probably because of COVID?
- The piano was below my waist. I had to bend a little and the arms are not parallel to the piano.
- Unsure if the keys are naturally heavy or if it was due to the fact that I am standing?

2. Roland FP10 / 30X
- FP10 keys seem heavier than 30X. I know they both have the PHA4 keybed, but I went through back and forth between them and playing octaves on FP10 is much more fatiguing than on 30X for some unknown reasons. Maybe the FP30X demo unit has more people playing on it and thus much more seasoned? At first, I thought that it might be because other people have changed the sensitivity, but I switched on and off both units and the result is the same. Even the FP60X and 90X actions felt easier to play on vs FP10.
- ok with FP30X

3. Kawai ES110
- lightest action of the three.