2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Barry_Braksick, Adam Reynolds, AlkansBookcase, APianistHasNoName, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, 8 invisible), 1,576 guests, and 241 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
R
rocdoc Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hi everyone,
I alluded to this in a thread focused on something else, and it occurred to me that it may deserve its own thread.
I wonder if I am alone if feeling this. I'm an adult beginner. I'm slowly slogging away at my lessons and really enjoying the process. I don't think I'm any good, but my teacher insists that I am, if anything, better than the average student at 7 months of playing without any prior experience whatsoever (other than being an avid consumer of music). I'm playing on the instrument I bought online, a Yamaha Arius YDP-164. Probably good for the money, but even to my inexperienced ears and fingers it feels a bit artificial and limited.
So, I started to consider upgrading. I went to an excellent store in my area, a Yamaha piano playground that would have any pianist feel like a kid in a candy store. I started with the CFX Grand (why not), and holy smokes, what an amazing instrument! I played around a lot, and then did the same with a lot of the range of acoustics, hybrids and digitals. I think a nice upgrade for me would be an NU1X hybrid, although I am still trying to decide if I could instead go for an actual acoustic (a B3 would be the same price).