2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
41 members (Charles Cohen, Calavera, Beansparrow, AlainGeneva, Almaviva, clothearednincompo, Dore, CaseyVancouver, BlakeOR, 9 invisible), 1,285 guests, and 663 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3130353 06/22/21 10:28 AM
E
Ezeriel Offline OP
OP Offline
E
looking for advice for ear training.

as background, I started learning piano with no musical background about a year ago. followed Alfred's basic adult piano course and am about 1/4 into book 2. I can only cover about 0-2 pieces from the book per week depending on my work schedule, it's slow but at least it's consistent... Recently, it's starting to feel a little stale and I was thinking about starting some ear training.

I was wondering if one could start ear training too early in learning music?

Where should I exactly start? start by transcribing very easy pieces? try identifying different intervals? chords? rhythms? or something like sight-singing?

Everyone seems to be saying something slightly different, so if anyone has advice for someone at my skill level, it's much appreciated!

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
Earmaster.com

Good for mac, pc and iPad

“To send light into the darkness of men’s hearts - such is the duty of the artist.”