2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 17 invisible), 2,107 guests, and 330 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3128765 06/17/21 03:34 PM
M
OP Offline
M
My husband and I are considering two different pianos and we are complete newbs! Can you all give us advice on two different pianos? We are currently looking at the Boston 156 brand new or a used Yamaha GC1- we love the action on both. Just not sure of the price on the Boston- what is a decent price for new? The Yamaha is wonderful- built in 2003… more in our price range BUT when you push the sustain pedal- something in the actual piano itself squeaks. Any reviews, comparisons, thoughts would be helpful! Our 11-year-old is very invested in playing and we have been told is very skilled for his age- so please keep that in mind with advice! Thank you all! My husband and I have been combing the board for advice!

Mariahmcg #3128771 06/17/21 03:55 PM
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
You should have the used piano inspected by a good tech to see if it has any problems. The squeak in the pedal could be an incredibly minor issue. For the Boston 156 pricing see the Piano Buyer(free link in left column). You must read the explanation of SMP to understand the prices next to the model.

Mariahmcg #3128776 06/17/21 04:13 PM

Platinum Supporter until November 30 2022