2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (beeboss, Animisha, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 3 invisible), 1,277 guests, and 258 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
Hi everyone, I'm a primarily classical pianist, fairly seriously as a high school student but now in my mid-30s working as a physician. Just bought a house and I can finally consider getting a grand piano. I finished the RCM grade 10 exams as a teenager and hope to one day challenge the RCM ARCT performer's exam, though right now with establishing my career, I'm only playing casually, maybe 45-60 minutes a day.

There's a walnut-colored Steinway Model M near me for sale, built ~1990, all original parts, asking C$27,000 (~22,000 USD). Wondering what people think in terms of value for money for such a piano? It would be placed in the living room of a roughly 2,000 sq ft home.

I'm currently playing a Roland FP-7F digital piano which served me through medical school and residency, but I'm looking to upgrade, as I find the sound and expressiveness somewhat lacking. I've also considered the Yamaha AvantGrand N1X and Kawai NV-10 (though the latter is expensive enough in Canada that I'd rather consider a small used grand).

Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
Straytoven: