2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
72 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, Colin Miles, 36251, 13 invisible), 2,157 guests, and 343 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3118432 05/17/21 03:06 AM
J
OP Offline
J
Hello. I’ve wanted to play the piano for a long time and I’m finally able to buy a DP. I am an absolute beginner, so I can’t really go to a shop and try playing a few songs on them. I will still go check them out, though. Just in case. I have narrowed my options down to three:

Roland RP-501R – ~1250$
Casio AP-470 – ~1000$
Kawai KDP110 – ~1000$

From what I understand, the key actions on all three are decent for beginners, but Kawai and Casio are on the noisier side. The keys on the Casio also seem to be a bit wobbly?
As for the sound, from what I read, Roland has the best sound engine. I’m not sure how Casio and Kawai compare. I will mostly be playing songs from bands like Twenty One Pilots, so I think I need a sound on the brighter side (the Kawai sounded a bit dark imo, but every video on YouTube sounds completely different :/). I will mostly be using my Sennheiser HD599s.

I don't really care about anything other than the key action and the piano sounds.

So, which of these three should I buy? Which one do you think has the best sound and is suitable for what I will be playing?
Thanks in advance.

Last edited by jacobycharles1978; 05/17/21 03:08 AM.
C
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
C