2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
39 members (butchkoch, Alex McG, Christopher90, Alex Hutor, 1903wrightflyer, clothearednincompo, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 236 guests, and 458 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
OP Offline
D
I am a rank beginner at the piano, having played some classical guitar for about 10 years in my youth. I recently wanted to experiment with learning and playing the keys, with an eye (and ear of course!) towards greater polyphony than the guitar (especially the classic kind), so I figured I would get a cheap Yamaha keyboard, a PSR-E373, 61 unweighted keys with a bunch of sounds in it and a pretty good sounding piano tone via headphones. Really, read the reviews, it's much better than its predecessors, apparently!

For a few months now, I have been playing and learning online and with the Faber Adventures Adult All-In-One books (1 and 2) and have also been playing chords along some favorite music with the built-in audio interface of the keyboard (with the help of the Yamaha Chord Tracker IOS app), as well as feeding MIDI files to the keyboard and thru MuseScore and GarageBand. Honestly, this keyboard purchase has probably been the best $200 I spent in my whole life! So much value in that little plastic box! cool