2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
67 members (AlphaTerminus, 8ude, 1957, adamcz, BlaisGuitars, Boboulus, Batuhan, 12 invisible), 700 guests, and 518 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
T
So I'm not a professional and I never won any competitions, so I've never gotten to play with an orchestra. Some of you might remember that 5 years ago, I tried to create my own orchestra for Rach 1, and did the first two movements:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLq2Iv7NGtT0XO_YJ4fCoEIssa1HQfyMe0

I've had a lot of free time lately, and I was taking a look at doing the 3rd movement. Looking at the score again, I remember why I didn't want to do what I did with the first 2 mvts...too many notes. I want to put together some "Music Minus One"s for my own favorite obscure concerti so future pianists don't need to struggle like I did, but it has to be more efficient than hiring an entire orchestra.

I first tried Melodyne hoping it could identify piano sounds, but it doesn't really work well with many instruments in overlapping ranges. Then I thought about using a score recognition program to transcribe the orchestral score to MIDI, but taking a bunch of basically level notes and adding expression is a fairly big undertaking.