2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
29 members (1903wrightflyer, anotherscott, CyberGene, aphexdisklavier, gwing, Colin Miles, Animisha, 9 invisible), 384 guests, and 581 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
OP Offline
G
Hi all,

I'm new to the piano, I've kind of just been learning on my own in lockdown for the past 3 months or so although I do have a history in guitar, I haven't picked one up in over a decade so it's sort of a fresh start...

My query at this stage, is just regarding recommendations for learning how to read music. It feels far, far more intuitive for a piano compared to what I remember trying to learn with the guitar, but I'm not sure if I'm going about it wrong.

Currently, I am kind of just learning what the note correlates to on the piano rather than learning the names of the notes. So I know the notes you need to play in a chord based on the location on the sheet music (no where near sight reading, I still need to use it to figure out what it is and memorise it rather than sight reading).

Is this a good way to go about learning it or would you recommend physically sitting and learning things like chord names etc?

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Ubu Offline