2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, Colin Miles, 36251, 12 invisible), 2,158 guests, and 339 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2738875 05/23/18 09:47 AM
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
Any of you pianist also decide to learn guitar? I've been playing piano for about 18 years now (took about 4 years of formal lessons in college, and just kept at it on my own after that). I still enjoy it, but I think I've become a little bored with it lately. I have very minimal experience with guitar, but think I'm going to take a stab at it. One thing I found that I really enjoy with piano is playing along with some of my favorite songs (mostly modern music...pop, rock, movies), so I'm sure I'd enjoy doing that with guitar as well.

For those how play both, did you enjoy learning another instrument? Another thing I think I will like about guitar is that I can tune it myself whenever I want. Sometimes my piano drives me nuts because I have to deal with varying amounts of wonkiness for extended periods of time.

Kawai RX-6 BLAK
M
M
I did the opposite, I began with guitar for 13 years then moved to the piano. I find that a lot of the finger dexterity of piano is very similar to guitar, so the process of moving from one to the other is a lot less taxing than you might think. Let us know how it goes! Best of luck!

21 year old musician. Teacher for https://mgrmusic.com/piano-lessons/
Lot of the finger dexterity of piano is very similar to guitar.

M
M