2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
62 members (36251, Blague, brdwyguy, brennbaer, Abdol, andrewlapp, BlakeOR, 12 invisible), 962 guests, and 481 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 7 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ubu Offline
There's one thing that it's kind of difficult for me to get right. It is the long term timing of practice.

I mean, when I'm studying a piece or set of pieces of classical music i know how long does it take to get them to an acceptable level. So i know how many days or weeks or months i must practice and the pace the improvement may be expected.

But when dealing with jazz exercises i have no idea. Probably because of lack of experience. So when i start studying any new jazz concept such as keys, walking bass, harmony, ear training, whatever, i don't know at all how much improvemt should i expect after any amount of time.

I think that this should be considered in the path of becoming a jazz virtuoso. Knowing the long term timing of your practice would allow you to have the necessary patience and perseverance and to detect errors in your practice.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
N
Nahum Offline OP
4000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
4000 Post Club Member
N
Originally Posted by Ubu
There's one thing that it's kind of difficult for me to get right. It is the long term timing of practice.