2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
49 members (Burkey, Beansparrow, anotherscott, 1957, 20/20 Vision, accordeur, 11 invisible), 523 guests, and 579 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3104694 04/10/21 09:41 PM
M
mojoe Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Let me preface this by saying that I am a beginner. Those more experienced may feel that the keyboard I talk about below is pure garbage, and not suitable, even for practicing. That may be, but for now, my needs are simple, and their are few choices for an 88-key travel keyboard.

I'm in the Merchant Marine, so when I go to work, I'm away from home for months at a time. I wanted a keyboard that I could take with me for practicing when I'm at sea. It had to be something that I could carry on an airplane, as I don't like to check luggage. The keyboard will count as my "personal item", in addition to my carry on bag.

My research found three 88-key keyboards that either folded or split into pieces, priced from $100 to $200. There were a few other such keyboards that cost much more, but they may or may not actually be available (one was a Kickstarter). I didn't consider short keyboards under 61-keys.

After searching online and watching YT videos, I decided to purchase the NikoMaku Portable Piano Keyboard from Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L7RX2P1/