2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
32 members (admodios, busa, Cominut, drumour, Foxtrot3, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 6 invisible), 1,167 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
I am an adult beginner, and I have been playing for slightly over 1 year without any previous experience. So far I have been using an FP30, but I would love to move to something more substantial and similar to a real acoustic piano. My budget is under $7k and a digital or silent piano is a must. After extensive reading I have the impression that the Nu1x and the CA99 are my best bets (correct me if I am wrong) in this price range. I would like some advice/feedback from more experienced piano players or from people that own one of these.

Thanks!

Adult piano learner. Started in March 2020.
FP-30 -> NU1X
Youtube channel: https://youtube.com/user/ziobert
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
The Avant Grand series is a class above the Concert Artist series. So if you are paying the same, go for the Yamaha.

Yamaha P-515
P
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
P
I would consider the Kawai NV-5 in your situation. IMO a major consideration should be the action (as on a digital piano, you can always 'upgrade' the sound by using a VST). You mention that you are an adult beginner. If you are very adult, smile , it may be important to play an action that is not too heavy. The NV-5 has a very good action, and people are raving about its sound (it has a 'real' sound board).

The NU1X also has a real action, but I believe it is a bit heavier.