2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
74 members (BlizzardPiano, antune, andrewlapp, Baltguy, anotherscott, Abdol, Alex Hutor, 17 invisible), 641 guests, and 609 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
OP Offline
T
Only had my 88 Yamaha U 1 a few months and love it but I am new to all the terminology.
Ran across someone selling an 83 Yamaha U 1 -pristine like mine-advertised all about it being rarely used, beautiful photos but then in one of the photos
he mentioned that he replaced all 88 hammer return spring cords —said it is a common problem with Yamahas.. I have followed this forum for awhile but I just don’t remember reading anything about Yamaha U 1 having common problem of spring cords that disintegrate?
Not sure if I should be worried about mine. How does one identify this issue if piano plays fine?
Thank you

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Yes it is a common problem. Have your tuner check them next time you have it tuned.

Jean Poulin

Musician, Tuner and Technician

www.actionpiano.ca
P
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
P
Very common. Achilles heel common.

Peter Grey Piano Doctor

Peter W. Grey, RPT
New Hampshire Seacoast
www.seacoastpianodoctor.com
pianodoctor57@gmail.com