2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
74 members (amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, 14 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
gseppe Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hi everyone,

I have some questions about a grand piano restoration, I'm from Italy so I hope my english is not too bad and understandable.
I'm a pianist, not a technician, so I only want some advices to decide what to do (obviously I'll also call a technician to check the piano, but in the mean time I thougth it was a good idea to ask here). I have a grand piano in my parent's home, I don't study here normally but due to COVID situation I had to move there and study on a really old piano. The piano is a Rönisch, and by the serial number it seems that it has been built in 1870/1885. By accessing the action bay, the action itself has "Langer" carved on the front and by searching on the internet it seems to be a "simplex" spring & loop action.

The soundboard of the piano seems okay from top and bottom, without any cracks, by looking at it it seems too new for the piano's age, so I think that the piano was restored once, in fact on the bottom of the action there is another text carved that seems to report a date, but It's too messy to be read properly. The iron frame and the bridges seems also in perfect conditions.

The parts of the piano that seems to need some proper maintenance are: