2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (36251, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 17 invisible), 2,123 guests, and 336 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3063733 01/01/21 12:03 PM
M
MrOhm Offline OP
OP Offline
M
First off, I'm a complete beginner. No teacher (pandemic) and for starters I want to learn to sight read. My question is what would my strategy be for deciding which finger to use for which key? And if my goal is to learn to hit the key displayed on the sheet without looking down, that means I must be feeling black keys for orientation somehow. There are plenty of apps for learning sight reading (flash card type of thing), but I'm sure that only using my index fingers is not the way to go, duh.

And BTW, I realize there's not going to be some precise recipe/algorithm that answers my question cleanly, but some insight would help a lot. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Here's a portion of a video where the guy at least starts to address this issue:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6lt3wBSQJ0#t=6m39s

S
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
S
All these vids are just a lot of BS. To learn to sight read you first need to learn to read, ie know your notes on the ledger. Then you need to be able to play simple things with limited range over one octave. You need to learn to use your 5 fingers, irrespective of whether you are sight reading or not.