2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
71 members (aphexdisklavier, ambrozy, accordeur, BravoRomeo, 36251, Animisha, Chris Warren, anotherscott, 15 invisible), 1,261 guests, and 718 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
H
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
H
Hello everyone. I've been tuning my pianos for the past 7 years, and 3 years ago I started tuning by ear, and I've encountered a weird "phenomenon", and my theories to explain it, so I thought I would share and see if anyone experience the same things.... Hope you all don't mind.

First of all, from 2013-2017 I was using verituner. The first thing I noticed is if my entire piano is sharp or flat even by a little bit, I would literally have to manipulate EVERY pin.
After doing so, the entire piano would be within approx +/- 0.3 cents of the verituner calculated target.

After this type of tuning, I would notice that the piano sounds "stiff". Hard to explain, but it's as if the sustain pedal is pressed half way, even though I press all the way. In other words, the sustain on all notes is shorter.