2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (drumour, Foxtrot3, johnesp, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 7 invisible), 1,221 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#2984450 05/27/20 06:27 AM
N
OP Offline
N
I took piano lessons a while back (probably 2 years ago last time) and now I'm studying on my own. During the time I've known piano, I've never really sightread (as in trying to play with my eyes always on the score). As a result, I'm 16 with extremely poor sightreading skills.

Starting around 2 weeks ago, I have been practicing to reinforce my sightreading.

Here's how I do it :
I picked up Schafer's Sightreading Book 1(out of 3 volumes) for pieces to sightread then I try to sightread as many as I can in 30 minutes. For each short piece (around 1/3 or 2/3 of a page) I play it once.

However, I notice that I struggle a lot with :
1. Fingering
2. Reading the notes correctly
3. Reading the notes to the tempo I want.
Lento, fine. But sometimes I can't even get the notes right in lento. I can easily recognize a note, so recognizing one is not a problem. But even then I still hit the wrong notes. Mostly because I think I take a long time moving my hands without looking at them they just end up messing with the whole thing.

And lastly a quite important one :
I'm really trying to learn to sightread, but 2 weeks of work doesn't seem like it's giving me much improvement. How long did you learn sightreading (and how long per day) to get to a proficient level?