2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 13 invisible), 2,110 guests, and 299 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
J
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
J
Originally Posted by JJHLH
Originally Posted by pianoloverus
Being able to play while looking at music, and not your hands, is fundamental. I can’t think of anything more important in learning to play the piano. It isn’t easy, but with time and effort the results slowly become more evident and satisfying. As a beginner I made the decision at the start to learn this.
Even the most advanced pianists look at their hands some of the time while playing with the score and not just for big jumps.

I agree. But the most advanced pianists don’t have to look at their hands. Sometimes they do, but it’s not required. A blind pianist has won a gold medal at the Cliburn.

And he has visible issues with his posture and hand positioning that will lead to injury sooner than later. One of the reasons why pianists look down at their hands is to do a "technical check" and make sure not just that the notes are right, but so too are the curvature of the joints, the height of the wrist, the rotation of the wrist, the depth of the press in relation to the key bed.. all of these are things that can be hard to gauge at speed without a visual reference, and especially with the adrenaline pumping. It's surprisingly easy to power through using a poor position that will come back to bite you after a 2-hour concert.

8000 Post Club Member