2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Advanced Piano Tricks
Advanced Piano Tricks
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
76 members (almo82, accordeur, Alex Hutor, Andrew E., Busdriver320, Beemer, Animisha, brennbaer, 13 invisible), 639 guests, and 433 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2854541 06/01/19 09:02 AM
P
OP Offline
P
Hi,

I am facing a move from Wichita, KS to Calgary, AB this summer. I am a piano teacher and have a Yamaha YUS5 which I purchased new in 2007. It has "lived" in the same room and home for 12 years. The cost to move all of our belongings professionally is quite prohibitive, and exceeds the amount that will be reimbursed by my husband's new employer in Calgary.

We are now considering moving by uHaul with professional loaders and unloaders assisting on both ends. However, I am quite nervous and a bit skeptical about putting my piano onto a uHaul and trucking it 1600 miles. I have reached out to a number of moving companies and international shippers, to find out if we could have the piano moved separately, but I haven't had any luck yet getting answers. Has anyone on this forum ever moved a higher end piano either by uHaul or as a single shipment with a company? If so, what was your experience, and do you have any advice to offer?