2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
53 members (Aylin, brdwyguy, bcalvanese, accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, 6 invisible), 1,336 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
alu1 Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi guys, i've been playing for 3 years now, i have learnt a lot of pieces like Clair de lune, two little preludes and two inventions from bach, a study from burgmuller, and a lot more. My question is when will i be ready for chopin etudes, i'm learning now a prelude and fugue in c minor from book 1, but i want to learn more about technique and developing fastness. What path to take for getting into the chopin etudes?

T
T
This won't be the advice that you'll get from most people on the forum, but just pick your favorite etude and spend a few hrs per day with it for a week to gauge your level. If you're making more progress than you expected, then keep going. However, if it feels clearly out of your range then re-evaluate, or put it aside for the future. If your motivation is there, and your work ethic is there, then let it rip. Life is too short to be scared.

Last edited by TwelfthRoot2; 04/15/19 12:24 AM.

There is a big difference between knowing something and being good at executing. One is conscious, the other is subconscious, and the path to the subconscious does not usually lead through the conscious.
A
alu1 Offline OP
OP Offline
A