2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, accordeur, 12 invisible), 1,816 guests, and 288 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 17 of 47 1 2 15 16 17 18 19 46 47
D
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
D
Originally Posted by newbert

1. Did you start the course as a total beginner? If not, at which lesson did you find the course to begin being useful to you (assuming that you're happy with the lessons)?

I was pretty much a beginner when I started Duane's course.

2. If necessary, can separate DVD's be purchased out-of-order? (ie - purchase DVD #3 first?) I'm pretty sure that the answer to this is NO.

I don't know. An email to Duane's office should answer that question. Even though Duane has recently passed away his lessons and material will still be available.

3. What types of songs are used in the lessons? (Could someone perhaps provide an abbreviated listing?) Do you find them useful to "carry over" the skills you learn to other songs? ( I play mostly Great American Songbook and 70's/80's pop.)

I really only want to play mostly gospel songs, so I don't find the song selection in the course particularly inspiring. There are a lot of songs (several hundred) that you'll go through. Unfortunately, I don't have the time to make a list. Sorry.

However, I do feel everything I'm learning easily translates into the type of music I ultimately want to play.