2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 10 invisible), 1,847 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Fellow adult beginner here, and I feel your pain even though I do not have half of your talent. My last 3 teachers were like that—my first teacher assigned me a recital piece that I reckon is at least Grade 4, with complicated rhythms (for a beginner) during my first month of lessons. The 2nd teacher made me do the rest of Fur Elise after I was able to do the easy first section. You can imagine the spectacular crash and burn of the results. My 3rd teacher had the most reasonable piece suggestions (I also made sure to steer her by bringing my own pieces that I knew were at my level) but she had very low standards for my playing. She “passed” me even though at my estimations, I couldn’t have had the piece down more than 40%.