2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
70 members (CaseyVancouver, claburo, Calavera, Amy H, anotherscott, chopin_r_us, brennbaer, 14 invisible), 640 guests, and 642 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
G
Don't misunderstand - I'm a hard-core amateur without any musical education. Throughout the years, however, I have made a few public performances - mostly as a accompanist. Either with solo voices or with choirs. In addition I have frequently played the organ for church services, and this is paid work here. During the last couple of years, however, I hardly had job at all, neither as an accompanist or an organist. One particular reason may be that I didn't play very well during a concert two years ago. This was with a choir, and some pretty prominent musicians from the local community present. Since then the choir has been using another pianist, in fact a professional, who definitely plays much better than me. When comes to the church services, the reason may be that the last few years three of the local organists retired. They are all merited and educated musicians, and I think that they are very glad to take the jobs when the working organists take a Sunday off. The few times I have been asked to play the last year are at locations far away, awkward to get to and wit