2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
85 members (Bett, brdwyguy, anono89, 36251, Bruce In Philly, anotherscott, accordeur, 15 invisible), 1,007 guests, and 430 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Dee102 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi Everyone! A complete newbie that decided to purchase a piano this weekend. I tried to do some research here about this piano. I've seen not the best reviews about the B/B1 model. Even some comments from the original designer Del Fandrich, super cool! But one of his comments confused me...(old thread from Jan 2006)

"The original idea was to design a fundamental concept that could be used to create at least two larger pianos, one around 5� 3� and another around 5� 6� or 5� 7�. Obviously they did not follow through with the larger pianos. Which, given the way they were building the Model B was probably a good thing. I still think the fundamental design is a good one and would really like to see what could be made of the concept of stretching the basic design to make the two larger pianos. "

Now, that got me curious as I just bought a 1994 5' 7" Baldwin Classic C made in the US. It was a reasonable price for how it sounds and I like that it has warmer tones. A good piano for my getting back into it level and something I hope my kid can learn on. Also understanding it is probably "flawed".