2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
51 members (1957, AprilE, Bebe1980, Charles Cohen, Animisha, Ben_NZ, Andrew_G, Bett, 12 invisible), 786 guests, and 400 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2633272 04/15/17 02:58 PM
V
Vaibhav Offline OP
OP Offline
V
Hi

I am an absolute beginner. I find it hard to tell intervals. Basically if someone played one of 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th randomly and asked me which was it, I won't be able to tell. This is also why even if I know a tune, I am not able to find it's notes on the keyboard. Let's say I know the first note, I wouldn't be able to tell if the next note is higher or lower.

Do people generally need to do something to develop the ability to tell intervals or is it something that naturally comes with time.

Vaibhav

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
Originally Posted by Vaibhav
Let's say I know the first note, I wouldn't be able to tell if the next note is higher or lower.

Do people generally need to do something to develop the ability to tell intervals or is it something that naturally comes with time.

Vaibhav

Well, what I think is that you have to be able to know that as part of your natural musical ability.

You may wish to reconsider trying to work on piano playing.