2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2462746 09/23/15 09:59 PM
A
alans Offline OP
OP Offline
A
I am a beginner and my book has me now working on my first Hannon study. I have come across his studies on another instrument in the past but I don't understand what the benifits of his studies are. I enjoy playing this page as it is C major and straight-forward,but what is to be gained from it? And are their special ways to play his work to improve your technique. I do have a teacher but it is a week until my next lesson.

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Each Hanon study addresses a specific piano or musical technique/s. To hone that technique, many people transpose the study in all keys.

We are the music makers,
And we are the dreamers of dreams.

Gold Supporter until July 22 2015
1000 Post Club Member

1000 Post Club Member
Hanon is extremely repetitive. That means if you have a great teacher who takes care to insist on how to properly do it, you cement in some good technique. If you have a not so experienced teacher, then you cement in bad technique. Its repetitive nature is very problematic. The more you repeat something, the harder it is to change it later. I would say skip Hanon all together.

E
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
E