2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 15 invisible), 2,136 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
D
I was "self-taught" for a few years before starting classical lessons. I'm in my 7th month of lessons.

I've always struggled with "runs" (scales, groups of grace notes, any passage containing many short notes). I simply have no control over the dynamics, evenness, legato-ness, or speed.

I play all the major and minor scales fairly slowly, but all the individual notes sound like quarter notes. By this I mean that the notes don't sound like short parts of a beat . . . if you wrote out a scale in sixteenth notes and 4/4 time, for example, and I played a major scale, it would sound like one beat per note.

I think when good pianists play runs/scales, you don't hear every single note like that.

My teacher has suggested practicing more slowly, rolling my hands "in and out" (towards the fallboard and back, slightly, with a movement of the arms, causing the hands to move) as I play, practicing in random rhythms, and "just being patient". But I don't feel any better in this respect than the day I began lessons.

Add the evenness, dynamics, and other problems mentioned above, and I feel lost.

Does anyone have any suggestions for improving these aspects of my playing? I feel paralyzed by my inability to play these types of passages, since they're ubiquitous. I appreciate any input/help.

Beethoven - Op.49 No.1 (sonata 19)