2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
44 members (Davdoc, alan w, Bill McKaig,RPT, andrewlapp, Damien PG, chrisb42, c++, 9 invisible), 552 guests, and 555 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
ttrp Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Hello everyone. I'm a guitarist of 11 years who had picked up the piano in September while preparing to go to my uni's music program after years of thinking i could never do it . I only had to meet a certain level for the piano, but found I enjoyed it so much that i continued going .

I'm coming along very well , i have been reading through Mayla and Bernhard's posts on piano street and now I'm discovering this place. Beyond the musical learning that I' doing however, I have some sticking points I am curious about which are mostly mental things that i was hoping someone would have some knowledge towards.

1) I started off musically as a rock guitarist, and learned music via tab and my ear. I also learned a lot of theory and applied it to the guitar. I'm now stuck in a strange place, where i understand musically what is going on the piano, but my reading skills are behind.