2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 11 invisible), 1,824 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2068538 04/22/13 10:00 AM
R
OP Offline
R
Hi, Newbie here....

Being a complete novice and having a terrible memory, is it unreasonable to think that I can still learn the keyboard even if once I have practised something in the book to the point where it sounds reasonable, that I don't seem to retain the note sequences a couple of weeks later?

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
If you aren't playing a piece every day, it will fade from your memory. You can maintain it somewhat by playing it a couple of times per week, but you would need to do it every day if you wanted to keep it performable.

So it's perfectly normal that by learning a piece and then moving on, you will forget how to play it, even with the book right in front of you if not reviewed for a few weeks.

Does that answer your question?

private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
Absolutely normal.

A few points to note. The first is that most of us don't memorize "deeply" enough; we use what is commonly thought of as muscle memory - the fingers know where to go and they play it. Although necessary for fast passages, it is the least reliable and soonest lost form of memory.