2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Adam Reynolds, AlkansBookcase, APianistHasNoName, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 9 invisible), 1,650 guests, and 252 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
OP Offline
A
Hello - forum newbie here hoping for some opinions on a digital piano choice.

I took piano lessons for a few years in grade school and took a class at college, but I haven't had a piano to play on for 4 years since then. It feels like past time to get one, and since I have roommates and limited space (and expect to be moving in a year for grad school), it has to be digital.

After reading and listening online and trying some models in store, I've narrowed it down to the Kawai CN33 and the Yamaha P155. I would look into the Kawai EP3 as well, but I haven't found one in my area and won't buy a piano without trying it. I like the CN33 better for how much it looks/feels/sounds like a piano (seems like a lighter, more responsive touch, and the sound from the speakers seemed impressive); and I do tend to be biased toward Kawai, because between the acoustic Kawais and Yamahas I've played, I much preferred the Kawais. But I like the portability of the P155, it feels pretty good (I want to say it's more like an upright, which is what I'm used to), and the price is compelling.

I tried the CN23 as well, by the way (salesman was trying pretty hard to sell me that one). It feels and sounds very much like the 33, but between the awkward interface, lack of usb, and open space in the back of the cabinet (but mainly the interface), it's a compromise I don't want to make.