2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
54 members (1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 11 invisible), 1,713 guests, and 335 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
D
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
D
Originally Posted by btb
Thanks for that david,
Sorry to have bruised your mind .
smile Well, which is it? Are you in it for money, or are you just trying to get everyone to see it your way? Afraid to answer?

(I'm a piano teacher.)
btb Offline
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Hi Damon,

Your reference to MIDI format merely in terms of numbers ...
has me wondering whether the critical aspect ...
namely the SHAPE of music has filtered through ...
the advantage of the MIDI format is reading the score
in terms of OVERALL note patterns (not individual notes) .

The Toccata (opening 32 measures) is mostly a parallel octave
passage by the two hands ... at m28 the LH hammers out a
percussive A, alternating with a merry RH ascent and descent ...
having just played this stretch on my Grotrian Steinweg ... the
tricky bit was maintaining the flow at m31 where the motif
overlaps the percussive A (need to sharpen up that bit).

PS This piece is an excellent study for parallel hands.

btb Offline
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Put a sock in it david,

You sport the typical materialistic know-it-all ... some of us have found Nirvana without the need to sell anything or play the Pied Piper ... I’ve got it all old chap!!