2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
78 members (benj.ma, Bett, brdwyguy, anono89, 36251, Bruce In Philly, anotherscott, 18 invisible), 1,039 guests, and 419 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 9 10
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 861
EJR Offline
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 861
It may be a configurtion issue....

My laptop is running pianoteq at 2.7ms. One tip is to run at 96000hz since this lowers latency (compared to 48000)

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
J
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by Voltara
The "Performance" tab in the options menu will give you an idea of how well your CPU is holding up. You may want to experiment with enabling/disabling multicore rendering. But it's entirely likely that either the audio drivers, or something else running on your system is contributing.

If you continue having trouble, I'd suggest asking at the Pianoteq forum.

[Linked Image]


Hmm, my performance index is usually around 50, and ive messed with the multicore rendering. Ill keep playing around, but Id bet its my sound card.

Originally Posted by EJR
It may be a configurtion issue....

My laptop is running pianoteq at 2.7ms. One tip is to run at 96000hz since this lowers latency (compared to 48000)


I have no option for run above 48kHz... in ASIO mode. Must be my sound card.

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
P
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
P
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
I'm running a macbook pro with a 2.4GHz C2D. The most I've seen Pianoteq (demo) use is ~30% - in regular play 15-20% is normal.

Last edited by PlebiousPianist; 07/09/10 02:14 PM.
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
J
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by PlebiousPianist
I'm running a macbook pro with a 2.4GHz C2D. The most I've seen Pianoteq (demo) use is ~30% - in regular play 15-20% is normal.


Wait, is performance index how much processor % Pianoteq is using or a rating of how good your processor is performing??

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 246
M
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
M
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 246
Originally Posted by JoeyIsFunny
It could be the ASIO4ALL drivers and my sound card being complete crap??


I really doubt it, if you have fine latency with 2 notes, you should have fine latency regardless of how many you play (as long as your CPU can keep up). I am surprised though seeing you having issues at low polyphony on a C2D, I have tried pianoteq on a macbook pro and it had no problems at all keeping up.

Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 89
S
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
S
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 89
Originally Posted by MarcoM
Originally Posted by JoeyIsFunny
It could be the ASIO4ALL drivers and my sound card being complete crap??


I really doubt it, if you have fine latency with 2 notes, you should have fine latency regardless of how many you play (as long as your CPU can keep up). I am surprised though seeing you having issues at low polyphony on a C2D, I have tried pianoteq on a macbook pro and it had no problems at all keeping up.


+1
He should have no troubles at all with that hardware.

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
J
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by SteveO42
Originally Posted by MarcoM
Originally Posted by JoeyIsFunny
It could be the ASIO4ALL drivers and my sound card being complete crap??


I really doubt it, if you have fine latency with 2 notes, you should have fine latency regardless of how many you play (as long as your CPU can keep up). I am surprised though seeing you having issues at low polyphony on a C2D, I have tried pianoteq on a macbook pro and it had no problems at all keeping up.


+1
He should have no troubles at all with that hardware.


Interesting... Ill have to check to make sure its all functioning correctly and at 100% speed. My computer has been taking ages to boot in the last 6-9 months... alot longer than it used to and I cant figure out why. Dont know if that has anything to do with it. Pianoteq recognized my CPU as running @ 3GHz, Ill check my processes and whatnot to kill anything that doesnt need to run.

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,070
M
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
M
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,070
I can run Pianoteq Play on a Netbook with Atom single core Processor at 1.6GHz and 1GB memory. Mine has a performance index of 9 in Pianoteq, and that's sufficient for 48 notes polyphony without any glitches and with latency = 256 samples / 5.6ms.


<~ don't test forever - play and enjoy! ~>
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
P
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
P
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
Sounds like there's a lot of background stuff clogging up the works.

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 246
M
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
M
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 246
Originally Posted by PlebiousPianist
Sounds like there's a lot of background stuff clogging up the works.


sounds like somebody has a spyware/malware infestation...

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
J
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by MarcoM
Originally Posted by PlebiousPianist
Sounds like there's a lot of background stuff clogging up the works.


sounds like somebody has a spyware/malware infestation...


Im running a spyware scan as we speak but I rarely get spyware and havent had any for a while. Ive noticed that my PC uses more memory at idle than it used to for the past 6 months or so. There are tons of services running in task manager but I have 3.3 gigs so its not a big deal.

Very weird thing happened earlier, just played it and there were no latency issues. Turned it off, came back 30 minutes later and the latency issues returned! I can set it as low as 4ms and still get horrible latency with 10 notes played. Gotta be a driver issue... Looks like a nice sound card may be in order.

Last edited by JoeyIsFunny; 07/09/10 07:13 PM.
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 89
S
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
S
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 89
What is the chipset of your sound card?
I wouldn't purchase a new sound card yet until you look at possible software/spyware/utilities running etc first.

How much memory do you have and what OS and version are you running?

Like others have said, latency isn't dependent upon the number of notes played.
Now, stuttering or crackles and pops are usually related to using too low a latency and the CPU gets overloaded. Turning up the latency slider in you sound card control panel will fix that.


Do you get the same problems running standalone and also as a VSTi within a DAW program like say Reaper?

It could also be a hosed install.

I suspect you might have a lot of stuff running in the background and it's sucking up processor cycles causing the program to act strange.

How much memory do you have?


Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
J
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by SteveO42
What is the chipset of your sound card?
I wouldn't purchase a new sound card yet until you look at possible software/spyware/utilities running etc first.

How much memory do you have and what OS and version are you running?

Like others have said, latency isn't dependent upon the number of notes played.
Now, stuttering or crackles and pops are usually related to using too low a latency and the CPU gets overloaded. Turning up the latency slider in you sound card control panel will fix that.


Do you get the same problems running standalone and also as a VSTi within a DAW program like say Reaper?

It could also be a hosed install.

I suspect you might have a lot of stuff running in the background and it's sucking up processor cycles causing the program to act strange.

How much memory do you have?

Originally Posted by JoeyIsFunny
...but I have 3.3 gigs so its not a big deal.


I actually have 4GB but 32 bit OS so its around 3.3. smile Its Vista SP2, and I dont have any other programs besides PTQ... I cant imagine the processes running would eat up my CPU, the CPU load in task manager idles around 3%.

Last edited by JoeyIsFunny; 07/10/10 12:04 AM.
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 243
D
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
D
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 243
Originally Posted by mucci
Originally Posted by MarcoM
[quote=jscomposer]I like to think I got a nice tone out of it...


it does sound nice, can you post your fxp here or at the pianoteq site?


No need to deny it, it just doesn't sound nice for many of us. I haven't yet found a single fxp that sounds realistically enough (in respect of piano-like realistic sound signature). And if there would be an fxp, why don't they provide it by default? Yes, it's very playable, yes it's tweakable, but you can't get it really realistic. I can hear the difference immediately. The only reason I bought it was the very nice resonance, which sounds very good in combination with the native CA63 Concert Grand sound.


I have to agree with mucci when I mix the roland Hp207 with pianoteq I get a better piano sound than pianoteq alone.I would like to know how you have setup your kawai with pianoteq.
I have connected my roland to my laptop using a usb from the piano directly to the laptop and connected a lead from the headphone socket in the laptop to the inputs at the back of the roland,but by doing this way I get noise inteferance from the piano.
If I plug headphones into the laptop it works fine using pianoteq only, but then I cant mix my roland sound with pianoteq.




Joined: May 2010
Posts: 46
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 46
My notebook settings:

C2D @ 2.0ghz
2gb of RAM
Sound: Realteq High Definition Sound (onboard)
Driver: Yamaha for DGX-230
Connection type: USB
SO: Windows 7 64x

Installed pianoteq and playing with low latency, I dont know how to check the latency, but it was playing very nice, I adjust to 128 poliphony, sustain pedal and played very quickly to get a lot of poliphony used and no lag at all.

I was trying to install ASIO4ALL but didnt understant how to do that, so I stayed with normal drivers and it sounds nice to play at home =D


"Imagination is more important than knowledge."
-- Albert Einstein
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,070
M
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
M
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,070
Originally Posted by Daren
I have to agree with mucci when I mix the roland Hp207 with pianoteq I get a better piano sound than pianoteq alone.I would like to know how you have setup your kawai with pianoteq.
I have connected my roland to my laptop using a usb from the piano directly to the laptop and connected a lead from the headphone socket in the laptop to the inputs at the back of the roland,but by doing this way I get noise inteferance from the piano.
If I plug headphones into the laptop it works fine using pianoteq only, but then I cant mix my roland sound with pianoteq.


Well there's a nice feature in CA63: You can directly connect the headphone out with line in of CA63, and you have a gain control slider for the line in. That way you can mix both the internal sound and the line in sound with each other to your liking. No noise at all!


<~ don't test forever - play and enjoy! ~>
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
J
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by virtu
My notebook settings:

C2D @ 2.0ghz
2gb of RAM
Sound: Realteq High Definition Sound (onboard)
Driver: Yamaha for DGX-230
Connection type: USB
SO: Windows 7 64x

Installed pianoteq and playing with low latency, I dont know how to check the latency, but it was playing very nice, I adjust to 128 poliphony, sustain pedal and played very quickly to get a lot of poliphony used and no lag at all.

I was trying to install ASIO4ALL but didnt understant how to do that, so I stayed with normal drivers and it sounds nice to play at home =D


For me, I just installed the ASIO4ALL drivers and that was it, good to go. Just went into pianoteq options and changed output from directsound (or whatever) to ASIO and it worked.

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,325
S
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,325
One little thing I often find myself doing is moving the middle hammer hardness slider (Mezzo) quite a long way towards the left, because Pianoteq seems to have a bias towards the forte timbres, at least with my keyboard. When I do this, the timbre change from pp to ff seems more natural and linear to me.

I do also make a few very subtle changes to the velocity curve to match my keyboard.

Greg.

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
J
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 431
Was playing some more tonight and had none of the latency issues I had before. It seems to pick and choose its good days. And I also have noticed the hammer hardness and brightness of the pianos. Im always making them a little mellower too.

Lastly, can I use a continuous pedal on my px-130 with pianoteq? The px-130 doesnt support continuous pedals, but since pianoteq does can I use one?? Or is the limitation in the px-130 going to nullify the pianoteq capability?

Last edited by JoeyIsFunny; 07/11/10 01:39 AM.
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 153
U
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
U
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 153
Originally Posted by Daren
I have connected my roland to my laptop using a usb from the piano directly to the laptop and connected a lead from the headphone socket in the laptop to the inputs at the back of the roland,but by doing this way I get noise inteferance from the piano.
If I plug headphones into the laptop it works fine using pianoteq only, but then I cant mix my roland sound with pianoteq.

That is a very common problem. I also get humming and digital noise, when I connect my notebook with my Kawai CN-33.

Kawai recommended me a hum destroyer like the Behringer HD 400 (http://www.thomann.de/de/behringer_microhd_hd400.htm). I am waiting for the cable to test it (ordered but not arrived yet). Until now, I use a simple filter like this http://www.reichelt.de/?ARTICLE=48085, which removes the digital noise but a very silent humming remains.


Pianos and Service - www.martinwidmannklaviere.de
Piano parts and Accessories - www.pianosupply.de
Page 3 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 9 10

Moderated by  Piano World 

Link Copied to Clipboard
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
PianoDisc

PianoDisc
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Mason & Hamlin Pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Kawai upright shortage in Canada?
by DeeZee - 09/19/21 05:55 PM
Korg SV-1 Sustain Pedal problem
by Herwiberde - 09/19/21 02:46 PM
JoJo Siwa's Baldwin grand
by ShiroKuro - 09/19/21 01:50 PM
Opinions on the CA49 for classical piano music only ?
by GaiaImpact - 09/19/21 01:16 PM
Download Sheet Music
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Forum Statistics
Forums42
Topics209,192
Posts3,133,601
Members102,770
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers

Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads



 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | MapleStreetMusicShop.com - Our store in Cornish Maine


© copyright 1997 - 2021 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5