2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (bcalvanese, 1957, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 36251, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 8 invisible), 1,401 guests, and 308 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Jules85 Offline OP
OP Offline
I've been playing an old Clavinova for the past 10 years. I love it, but the keys are starting to wear out on me... rattling issues and so forth. I've been looking for a new digital but to get one that I'm happy with, sound and touch-wise is going to run me about $4000. I know I can get into a pretty good acoustic for that price or a little more.

So... any thoughts on the pros and cons of acoustic over digital? These are the pros of digitals to me:

1. can play on headphones (great since I like to play late at night)
2. can practice left & right hand separate on difficult passages by using the record/playback function... I use this feature all the time.
3. light and portable... no need to hire a piano mover each time we move
4. it's a one-time only cost... no ongoing maintenance cost (ex. tuning)
5. some of the extra sounds are nice to have, although I do use the piano sound 99% of the time.

On the other hand, nothing sounds and feels quite like the real thing.

I would love to have some feedback from you. Have any of you switched from acoustic to digital for some reason? Those of you that switched from a digital to an acoustic, did you miss the digital? Any comments would be welcome. I'm having a tough time making up my mind on this one. (!!) :-/

thanks a lot!

R
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
R