2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
90 members (c++, Bruce In Philly, AlphaBravoCharlie, antune, 36251, 22 invisible), 1,463 guests, and 622 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
sdd Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hi all,

I've been messing around teaching myself how to play for a few months and feel like it's time to put in place a slightly more rigid practice regime.

So far I've started with Hanon to get my fingers moving over the keyboard more quickly. I'd like to add some scales to my practice session but am not sure which would get me the best return on time invested. I'm already doing C and D Major. What else should I add?

If it makes any difference my repertoire tends to be romantic era pieces - Chopin in particular (although clearly only the easier pieces at the moment).

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Sdd.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
Do you have a book of scales, chords, and arpeggios?

If so, go ahead and do G major for completeness. Then go ahead and do F major, and then Bb major. The idea is to not get really good at the "#" keys whilst letting yourself down on the "b" keys.