2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
24 members (dorfmouse, Kawai James, bwv543, Gianluca, Charles Cohen, AndrewJCW, Burkhard, galaxysea, 4 invisible), 407 guests, and 227 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
jodi Offline OP
6000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
6000 Post Club Member
I have a question for you guys. First of all, I am not an adult beginner. Ok, I mean, I'm an adult (most of the time), but I'm not a beginner. I've played for a long time. I have always had the ablility to play by ear - (which hindered my sight reading abilities for quite awhile when I was younger), meaning I can transpose things from what I hear on a record (gee, am I dating myself?) to the piano, and get them down eventually. But I've not ever felt comfortable with on the spot improvisation. You know, where the tune comes out pretty much nicely as you are going along right from the beginning.

So recently, I've been messing with that. Mostly chord progressions, not always a known tune, often one that is made up as I go along. I fumble a lot - it takes a couple of tries sometimes to get where I want to be (meaning, I hear where I want to go with the next chord, but my hands don't always hit that place right, and I have to slide down.